/head>

Robert's Reports

Cider

Gluten Free

Many people are concerned with gluten in alcoholic beverages. Most ciders are gluten-free because they are not brewed from wheat, barley, or rye, but rather apples. While you should always double check the ingredients, which are listed on most ciders, the majority of major cider brands are gluten-free. 

Cider is an alcoholic beverage made mainly from the fermented juice of apples, though pears can also be used; in the UK, pear cider is known as perry. In the US and parts of Canada, the term cider almost exclusively refers to nonalcoholic apple juice (apple cider). The phrase hard cider is used to denote the fermented version.

Real cider is fermented apple juice, pure and simple. Traditionally, it is made with bittersweet and bitter-sharp apples, which have the tannins and acidity required to make a quality product. While dessert apples, such as Granny Smith or MacIntosh, are used by large commercial cider makers, these common varieties often require the addition of modifiers such as concentrates and synthetic flavourings. .Read More

Gluten is a general name for the proteins found in wheat (wheatberries, durum, emmer, semolina, spelt, farina, farro, graham, KAMUT® khorasan wheat and einkorn), rye, barley and triticale – a cross between wheat and rye. ... Gluten can be found in many types of foods, even ones that would not be expected. But not apples.

Please see Cider Houses

Previous Reports

Home | Sitemap | New |Gallery | Contact Us | Where to Stay |Advertise | ©2019 Robert A Bell